ICC brings new rules into the game

MGngRNnbuHoiqTJH4xMDoxOjBzMTt2bJ
ICC recently changed some cricketing rules which came into effect from 1 October 2017. The International Cricket Council (ICC) finally decided to make some alteration in rules after it was recommended by MCC. There are so many changes but we will discuss few of them.

1. DRS (Decision Review System)

Earlier: A team lost a review on ‘Umpire’s Call’ if the decision went against them. It favoured the on-field decision. Apart from this, reviews were topped up after every 80 overs in an inning in Test Cricket while only one unsuccessful review was allowed in One Day Internationals (ODI). Although, no review was offered in International T20 Cricket.

Now: Team will not lose a review if it is a ‘Umpire’s Call’. However the top up rule in Test Cricket won’t be in action anymore. Only 2 reviews will be allowed in an inning in a Test Match. Also the DRS had now been extended to T20 cricket as well

2. Run-Outs

Earlier: Once you made into the crease and after that if player’s bat went in the air while diving or dragging the bat in attempt to complete a run and the bails were dislodged right at that particular moment then the batsman would be adjudged out.

Now: Once a batter has grounded their bat beyond the popping crease but their continued forward momentum towards the stumps results in the willow losing contact with safe territory when the wicket is put down, the batsman will not be given out.

3. Bat Size

Earlier: No restrictions on any kind of bat.

Now: Thickness of bats to be restricted as edges now limited to 40mm and overall depth limited to 67mm.

4. Catching

(a) Jumping ‘in’ and ‘out’ of boundary line.

Earlier: While taking the catch on the boundary line, if the player lost his balance then he was allowed to throw the ball in the air, jump out of the boundary line and then come back into the boundary line to complete the catch. The batsman was given out.

Now: This is not allowed. The last contact with ground must be inside the boundary line.

(b) Catching off Helmet

Earlier: If the balls hit the helmet of the fielder and if the catch was taken by the same fielder or by any other fielder, that was not considered as a catch.

Now: This type of catching is allowed and will be considered as legal catch. Moreover, stumping and run-outs will also be acceptable even if the ball had recotioched off the helmet.

Image Credits- http://www.skysports.com

– Ushandeep Singh

Advertisements